Broadcom MASTERS 2017 awards $100,000 in prizes | Science News

Support Science Journalism

Science News is a nonprofit.

Support us by subscribing now.

Society Update

Broadcom MASTERS 2017 awards $100,000 in prizes

The Broadcom MASTERS 2017 finalists on stage at the awards gala.

Congratulations to the winners of Broadcom MASTERS 2017, who took home a total of $100,000 in awards. These middle school students were recognized in October for their achievements in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), critical thinking, communication, creativity and collaboration during the seventh annual Broadcom MASTERS competition.

The Samueli Foundation Prize: $25,000

Faris Irwin Wald, Santa Fe, N.M.


Robert Wood JohnsonFoundation Award for Health Advancement: $20,000

Emily Tianshi, San Diego, Calif.


Marconi/Samueli Award for Innovation: $10,000

Meghna Behari, Sewickley, Pa.


Lemelson Awardfor Invention: $7,500

Helen Lyons, New York, N.Y.


Science Award

First Place: Pujita Tangirala, Los Gatos, Calif.

Second Place: Jessie Gan, San Diego, Calif.


Engineering Award

First Place: Andrew Chiang, Saratoga, Calif.

Second Place: Spencer Green, Huntington Beach, Calif.


Rising Stars

Mithra Karamchedu, Portland, Ore.

Regan Williams, Wilmington, N.C.


Technology Award

First Place: Herin Kang, Los Gatos, Calif.

Second Place: Anthony Hill, Holladay, Utah


Mathematics Award

First Place: Zoe Gotthold, Richland, Wash.

Second Place: Sara L. Kaufman, Cooper City, Fla.


Scott A. McGregor Leadership Award

Arjun Moorthy, Scottsdale, Ariz.