Talent Search: Student finalists' flair for science to be rewarded

12:06pm, January 30, 2002

The Science Talent Search, a prestigious high school science competition, often serves as a springboard for a career in science or engineering. This week, judges announced the 40 finalists in the 61st year of the contest.

Selected from a field of 300 semifinalists, the honorees represent just over 2.5 percent of the high school seniors who entered the competition this year. The finalists topics of research include social sciences, mathematics, astronomy, biology, chemistry, physics, and computer engineering.

Science Service, which publishes Science News, and the Westinghouse Foundation established the Science Talent Search in 1942 to recognize and encourage high school seniors with a knack for science, mathematics, and engineering. In 1998, Intel Corp. of Santa Clara, Calif., became the programs corporate sponsor.

This article is available only to subscribing members. Join SSP today or Log in.

Get Science News headlines by e-mail.

More from Science News