New Solar System? Twelve planets and counting (Updated) | Science News

Be a Champion for Science

Get your subscription to

Science News when you join.


New Solar System? Twelve planets and counting (Updated)

11:26am, August 16, 2006

Updated August 25, 2006

Pluto aficionados, rejoice! Pluto is a planet. So are the giant asteroid Ceres, Pluto's moon Charon, and a large outer-solar system object called 2003 UB313. The solar system has 12 planets instead of the familiar 9, according to a proposal that the General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union (IAU) will vote on next week in Prague, Czech Republic.

This article is available only to subscribing members. Join the Society today or Log in.

Get Science News headlines by e-mail.

More from Science News