Killer whales are (at least) two species | Science News



Support credible science journalism.

Subscribe to Science News today.

News in Brief

Killer whales are (at least) two species

Orca genetics highlights distinctions among groups

5:28pm, July 11, 2013
Sponsor Message

Killer whales come in more varieties than anyone had realized, a new study of the predator’s DNA confirms. The finding could have important implications for marine conservation efforts, such as reducing the number of killer whales allowed to be caught when fishing in certain areas.

Until recently, scientists thought orcas that freely roamed the cold waters of the northern Pacific Ocean and the Bering Sea were a single species. But studies of the killer whales’ behavior and genetics suggested that there are at least two species — “resident” fish-eating orcas and “transient” mammal-eaters also known as Bigg’s killer whales (SN: 5/22/10, p. 8).

A new study of 462 killer whales, published July 11 in the Journal of Heredity, supports the division of northern Pacific orcas into two species. DNA analysis also indicates those species aren’t monolithic, Kim Parsons of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and colleagues report. Resident orcas fall into four genetically distinct subpopulations; at least five subgroups of transient killer whales ply the frigid seas.

Those subdivisions largely reflect the prey each group prefers, the researchers say.


K. M. Parsons et al. Geographic patterns of genetic differentiation among killer whales
in the northern north Pacific. Journal of Heredity. Published online July 11, 2013. doi:10.1093/jhered/est037 [Go to]

Further Reading

T. H. Saey. One ocean, four (or more) killer whale species. Science News Vol. 177, May 22, 2010, p. 8. [Go to]

Get Science News headlines by e-mail.

More from Science News